Like Eden

When I speak of simple, I mean simple.  Simple has been distorted.  When I say simple, people nod their heads sagely and agree while thinking of quick and cheap. 

When I speak of simple, I mean simple.  When I say simple, people nod their heads and agree while visualizing quick and cheap.

Granted simple today is distorted.  Finding and recognizing what’s left of, well, simple isn’t easy.   If you look hard enough, you can find simple.  It’s the age of the entrepreneur (which rhymes with manure) who built their factories and made their millions.  They built their factories over the drained cornfields that were once the greatest gardens in the United States–the Limberlost.  There are traces left here and there on the surface.  The Limberlost strengthens beneath the rusting facilities of man, trust me there, and will rise again to take over.

Can you follow me at all?  Simple is one table and one chair with no roof and no window. If a window is inevitable, then it must not picture frame nature of any kind.

Oh, and no one can teach simple, you need to remember simple.  You will lament the idea of simple and live on anger, confusing the whole concept with the idea of fate.

We still have the rich and the poor, the foolish and the wise, the extravagant and the simple.  Nothing has changed in humanity, and nothing has changed on the earth, it all just looks different; that’s what makes deception successful and immortality work.

One hundred years ago most would shake their heads and think me mad (I am) and walk away, but today I am patronized even admired.  I don’t care what they said one hundred years ago, or yesterday, I’m the living proof of immortality waiting on the rise of the Limberlost.

“We all have our own truth man; I like your style.”  I hear “truth,” all the time.  Idiot-speak, but I keep quiet being immortal, for now.

By style, most admire the table and chair I made from using the wooden slats and rusted nails that had been tossed into a heap outside the back door of some RV manufacturer.

Thanks.  Enough of that let’s talk simple immortality.  Immortality and what the hell does that have to do with the Limberlost, right?

Well, let me explain.  I believe in God, but we had a falling out some time ago.  The mortal sees in God only a pacifier because they cannot withstand change. Mortals grip God in a subconscious dive into the contemplation of death.  Those who feel the presence of God and all representatives of God long for death.  Trust me on this; I see it all the time.

That belief is not for me.  Though I understand God exists I’ve chosen to ignore Him and live forever.  I can you know and I will, within the tangle of the Limberlost and the sure knowledge that I’ll have the blessings of all those who believe God as only a transcendental force just like them.  Like the gone Limberlost, like Eden if you will.

You know it wasn’t my intention to destroy that place, I just thought it would be better without the human factor.  Still do, and I’m gaining.

Simple.

By the way, be careful who you stop and talk with, strangers aren’t always a good idea.

Author: SK Woodiwiss and SW Woodiwiss

We are writers. We love flash fiction, short stories, poetry, and novels. We love to write ghost stories but have tried our hand at simple conversations, inner fears and peeked into the madness of the mind. Our greatest love is the novel and its ability to explore character development. We simply enjoy the writing process.

Leave a Reply

